Need to evict a tenant? Bad happens. Bad news only gets worse with time. And the State of Colorado Eviction process has become exponentially more difficult over the past several years. Full Evictions can be costly in terms of time and money. We will manage and orchestrate the eviction process for you! And after the eviction, we can then find a new tenant for you or list and sell your home! We work with the Tschetter-Sulzer Law firm, the largest "eviction" law firm in the Denver metro area.
Evictions can take anywhere from 3 to 6 weeks. The process can be stressful and costly with the homeowner generally bearing the brunt of the costs that include court and legal fees, sheriff fees and mover fees.
Let's Talk. Contact Me Now!
Shari Oliver-Watkins, Owner, Managing Broker
Stars & Stripes Homes, Inc.
The eviction process can vary from county-to-county in Colorado. Eviction costs range from $500.00 to $3,000.00 depending upon the amount of furniture or tenant property that needs to be removed from the home. The flowchart below is meant to be a helpful guide, and certain time frames may vary depending on each person's circumstances.
The previous 3-Day Notice was recently changed to the 10-Day Notice and it informs the tenant they are being asked to leave the property and why. This notice can be given in person or posted on the door of the property, and may be called a Notice to Quit, Notice to Vacate or Demand for Compliance.
The Summons, Complaint and Answer is found in the F.E.D. This Summons In Forcible Entry and Unlawful Detainer document informs the tenant that there is a court hearing regarding the eviction.
Tenants should always make an effort to attend the court hearing regarding their eviction. If there is a chance to negotiate with your landlord/property manager about time frame for leaving the property and money owed, this is it! At the time of the court date, the Writ of Restitution is issued. This is what allows the Sheriff’s deputy or police officer to evict the tenant of a property. This document MUST be served by the Sheriff/Sheriff's Deputy before an eviction can take place.
A minimum of 48 hours must pass after the Writ of Restitution is issued before the tenant can be evicted. At the time of the eviction, the tenant will have a limited amount of time...perhaps one or two hours (determined by the sheriff) to remove their belongings from the property. If there are no delays in the eviction process, a tenant could be evicted in as few as 10 days from the time the Three-day Notice is posted.
In Colorado, evictions are handled by the civil division/unit of the county's Sheriff's Office or Police Department. Below you'll find the specific contact information for the civil units of Adams, Arapahoe, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas, and Jefferson counties.
ADAMS SHERIFF'S OFFICE PHONE (303) 655-3272
ARAPAHOE SHERIFF'S OFFICE PHONE (720) 874-3845
BROOMFIELD POLICE DEPARTMENT PHONE (303) 438-6480
DENVER SHERIFF'S OFFICE PHONE (720) 865-9556
DOUGLAS SHERIFF'S OFFICE PHONE (303) 660-7527
JEFFERSON SHERIFF'S OFFICE PHONE (303) 271-5502